Tuition-Free Eligibility CriteriaGeorgia Public Safety officers are eligible to attend GPSTC training tuition-free under the sponsorship of their agency provided they meet the following criteria:
- They are attending a program which is eligible. All GPSTC training courses are eligible. Some GPSTC conferences and symposiums may not be eligible. Programs hosted by resident or outside agencies may not be eligible.
- They are currently employed with an eligible agency. Eligible agencies are as follows:
- State, county, and municipal public safety agencies
- Resident agencies whose benefits are specified in their contract
- Judicial agencies such as Georgia district attorney’s, courts, solicitors and state marshals
- State of Georgia non-public safety agencies
- Their agency head or the agency head’s designated representative has approved the student for training.
- The student’s attendance must not be prohibited by any legislation, Attorney General’s opinion or Board of Public Safety policy.
Tuition Rates for Non-Eligible Students
Basic Training:Pre-service basic training candidates are accepted on a tuition basis at rates specified in the current fee schedule:
|Basic Mandate Program||Tuition||Program Length||Additional Fees/Notes|
|Basic Law Enforcement||$3,093||408 hrs||Approximately $700|
|Basic Firefighter||$5,175||345 hrs||Students must provide NFPA compliant gear|
|Basic Jail Officer||$1,200||80 hrs||Tuition is ONLY due for applicants who have been employed with an agency more than six months|
|Basic Communications Officer||$600||40 hrs||Tuition is ONLY due for applicants who have been employed with an agency more than six months|
|Basic Coroner||$600||40 hrs||Tuition is due for all students and should be paid to the Georgia Public Safety Training Center|
Advanced & Specialized Training:All state, county, and municipal law enforcement agencies not designated above; out-of-state public safety officials; federal, private, and military agencies; and private citizens may attend most GPSTC training courses on a space available-basis at a rate of $15 per course hour. Additional fees may be applied to courses with significant supply costs. Tuition does not include meals.
Repeat StudentsA tuition fee is charged to all students (both tuition eligible and tuition ineligible) who elect to repeat a class due to course failure. The tuition rate is $15 per course hour for all courses. Students who elect to repeat a basic mandate course are charged a specific tuition fee for the type of course being repeated:
|EVOC (Emergency Vehicle Operations Course)||$405|
Students employed by a state, county, or municipal public safety agency that attend training courses are not charged for standard double or triple occupancy dorm rooms. Students who are attending basic certification are not charged for standard double or triple occupancy dorm rooms. Basic students must lodge in a double or triple occupancy capacity (as assigned), and do not have the option for private or Premium rooms. Employees of federal agencies, out-of-state agencies and private sector organizations, must pay for lodging. The following rates apply:
|Dorm Room Type||Tuition Eligible Personnel||Tuition Non-Eligible Personnel|
|Standard (double occupancy)||Free||$15 per night|
|Standard (triple occupancy)||Free||$15 per night|
Standard (single occupancy, space available)
|$15 per night||$30 per night|
|Premium (single occupancy only)||$20 per night||$20 per night|
All students are required to pay for meals. Meals can be purchased at the point of sale in the cafeteria where receipts are provided. The GPSTC cafeteria accepts cash, Visa, MasterCard, and debit cards with a Visa or MasterCard logo.
Agencies purchasing meal tickets are encouraged to do so no later than noon on Friday of the week prior to training, however, meal tickets are also available for purchase during regular business hours from the Front Desk or the Fiscal Services Division. There are three meal plans available.
|Breakfast, lunch & dinner meal plan||$18.00 per day ($11.25 on Fridays)|
Pre-Payment by Credit Card or Check: Agencies that wish to pre-pay with credit card or check can contact Registration at (478) 993-4225 or 4458 for telephone receipt of credit card information or details for sending a check.
Invoice: Agencies may be billed for meal tickets on a monthly basis. Agencies that wish to be invoiced may contact Accounts Receivable at (478) 993-4403.
Please Note: Meal tickets should be requested no later than noon on the Friday of the week prior to the student arriving in order to receive the full plan. Once a meal ticket is requested, agencies will be charged the full amount, per day, for the meal plan selected. Meal tickets are non-refundable. We do not track usage on meal cards and we do not issue credit for any uneaten meals. Students who lose their meal cards must pay a $5.00 “lost card” fee and be issued a new card. Credit card orders may be placed by contacting Registration at (478) 993-4225 or 4458.