The GPSTC Basic Jail Officer Program prepares officers to perform standard jail operations and conduct themselves in a manner consistent with legislative and case law decisions. Areas of study within the program include emergency procedures, inmate rights, inmate discipline, inmate and cell searches, fingerprinting, self-defense, inmate supervision, and medical activities such as first-aid, CPR. Portions of the program require physical activity and exercises in written communication. Students should bring with them those items needed to participate in these activities.
As mandated by state law, all jail officers must complete this 80-hour training program in order to earn certification through the Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST). Students who wish to enroll in the Basic Jail Officer Program must complete a POST application, which can be done online.
Students must be employed with a public safety agency to attend the Basic Jail Officer Training course and should have their training officer enroll them in the program after completing the POST application.
Training Program Highlights
Length of Program: 2 weeks
Tuition: FREE for new jail officers in Georgia; $1,200 for those who have been employed longer than six months
Dates Offered: View dates the program is offered
Locations offered: All GPSTC Regional Academies
CurriculumGPSTC's Basic Jail Officer Training program consists of 80 course hours and takes two weeks to complete. Outside independent study is required.
|Basic Jail Officer Topic||Course Hours|
|The American Jail: Origins & Development||Independent Study|
|Inmate Discipline & Grievance Procedures||2|
|The Jail Climate||2|
|Ethics & Professionalism||1|
|Admissions & Release||2|
|Basic Jail Security Procedures||4|
|Searches & Security Inspections||5|
|Supervision of Inmates||6|
|Abnormal Behavior & Suicide Prevention||3|
|Inmate Medical Service||3|
|Orientation to Chemical Weapons||1|
|Universal Precautions for the Detention Officer||3|
Tuition and Fees: Tuition and lodging are free for applicants who have been employed for six months or less. Applicants who have been employed more than six months must pay for tuition. Tuition is due no later than the first day of class and may be paid by check, invoice or credit card. Contact the Fiscal Services Department at (478) 993-4427 for payment by credit card or invoice. Under certain, extreme circumstances, tuition may be waived. A formal request must be sent to and approved by the Basic Training Division Director.
Sherita Ballard, Coordinator