In Georgia, the firefighter certification process is regulated by the Georgia Fire Standards and Training Council (GFSTC). Upon completion of the Georgia Public Safety Training Center’s (GPSTC) Basic Firefighter Training Program, students may sit for the GFSTC written NPQ Firefighter I test, which, upon passing, earns students state certification as a firefighter. Students will also have the option of taking an additional skills test to earn National Firefighter I certification.
Step 1: Complete Medical Release Affidavit
All students participating in the Basic Firefighter Training Course (BFTC) must submit a medical release form signed by a physician. You may download a copy of the form here. Please bring the medical release affidavit with you on the first day of class.
Step 2: CPR Certification
All students participating in the BFTC must have participated in the American Heart Association (AHA) Health-Care Provider or an equivalent course. A copy of the student’s current “Professional Rescuer” card, which includes adult, child, infant and AED is acceptable. Please bring your CPR certification with you on the first day of class.
Step 3: NIMS 700 and 100 Level Training
All students participating in the BFTC must complete these two online courses prior to graduating from the Basic Fire Training Course. The courses are available online through the Federal Emergency Management Agency www.fema.gov.
Step 4: Complete Student Authorization, Register and Pay Tuition:
Students who are already employed by a fire department should have their Training Officer register the student online using the agency ID and password. Students who are not employed with a fire department should complete Student Authorization Form and mail or fax it to the Registrar’s Office. After receiving the Student Authorization Form, GPSTC will contact you with your student ID and directions on how to complete your registration. Click here for a complete listing of Basic Firefighter Training Course dates.
Tuition rates for pre-services students enrolling in GPSTC’s Basic Training programs including the Basic Firefighter training program are listed in the fee schedule below and should be paid prior to the first day of class. Students can mail a check to the Training Center or pay with a credit card over the phone by contacting the Registrar’s Office at (478) 993-4458. Alternatively, tuition may be paid by cash or check on the first day of class at the Registrar’s Office. Students must furnish their own NFPA compliant gear.
|Basic Mandate Program||Tuition||Program Length||Additional Fees/Notes|
|Basic Law Enforcement||$3,093||408 hrs||Approximately $700|
|Basic Firefighter||$5,100||340 hrs||Students must provide NFPA compliant gear|
|Basic Jail Officer||$1,200||80 hrs||Tuition is ONLY due for applicants who have been employed with an agency more than six months|
|Basic Communications Officer||$600||40 hrs||Tuition is ONLY due for applicants who have been employed with an agency more than six months|
|Basic Coroner||$600||40 hrs||Tuition is due for all students and should be paid to the Georgia Coroner's Training Council|
Step 5: Course Completion and Certification:
On the last day of GPSTC’s eight-week Basic Firefighter Training Program, students will have the option to sit for the Georgia Firefighter Standards and Training Council’s (GFSTC) NPQ Firefighter I skills test. This test is optional and at the discretion of the student or their department. This test, which gives students the State Certification as a firefighter, will be administered on the last day of the training course, but is not part of the pass/fail criteria of the course itself. Graduation will be held Thursday evening, and students will be given the opportunity to stay for the GFSTC testing, which earns students National Firefighter I Certification, on Friday.
Contact: The Georgia Fire Academy
Phone: (478) 993-4670